Award for Distinguished Service to Rural Life

Award for Distinguished Service to Rural Life		
Year	Recipient(s)	Organization/Service/Site
1981	Lauren Soth	Former editor - Des Moines Register, Des Moines, IA
1982	Senator Patrick Leahy	U.S. Senator, Vermont
1983	R. J. Hildreth	Managing Director, Farm Foundation, Oak Brook, IL
1984	Robert Rodale	Rodale Press, Emmaus, PA
1985	Irene Tinker, Ph.D.	Founder and Director, Equity Policy Center, Washington, DC
1986	Russell Mawby	Chairman, W. K. Kellogg Foundation, Battle Creek, MI
1987	Minnie Miller Brown	Emeritus Extension Professor, Raleigh, NC
1988	Bob Bergland	National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Washington, DC
1989	Representative Thomas S. Foley	Speaker of the House, U.S. House of Representatives
1990	Richard D. Morrison	President Emeritus, Alabama A&M University, Normal, AL
1991	Marilyn Wakeland Hoskins	Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Washington, DC
1992	David Pimental	Professor, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
1993	Marty Strange	Center for Rural Affairs, Walternatehill, NE
1994	W. Thad Rowland	Association for Quality of Life in America
1995	Emery Castle	Oregon State University
1996	Frances F. Korten	The Ford Foundation
1997	David L. Ostendorf	Center for New Community
1998	Donald M. Bay	National Agricultural Statistics Service, Washington, DC
1998	Wilma C. Warren	Southeast Rural Community Assistance
1000		Project, Roanoke, Virginia
1999	Ed Marston	High Country News, Paonia, Colorado
1000		
2000	Gary Grant	Founder of Concerned Citizens of Tillery,
		Halifax County, North Carolina
2001		······································
2002	Charles W. "Chuck" Fluharty	University of Missouri, Columbia
2003	Glen H. Elder, Jr.	University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2003	Rand Conger	University of California, Davis
2004	Dianne L. McSwain	Dept. of Health and Human Services,
		Washington, D.C.
2005	Bruce Lindsey	Rural Studio, Auburn University
2006	Marshall Murphree	Africa
2006	Wendell Berry	Port Royal, Kentucky
2007	Rev. Mac Legerton	
2008	Elanora Cebotarev	
2009	Rachael B. Tompkins and Sharon Adams	
2010	Melanie Parker	Northwest Connections
2011	Joanne Jordan	University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2012	Brother Dave Andrews	Water and Food Watch
2012	The Wormfarm Institute	Reedsburg, WI
2013	Kristina Peterson	Lowlander Center
2014		Non-profit arts and education center,
2013	Appalshop	Whitesburg, Kentucky
2016	Highlander Research and Education Center	U
2010	•	
2017	Carol Prejean Zippert and John Zippert Reverend Robert B. Langseth	Greene County Democrat Calumet, MI
2010	Neverena Nobert D. Langseth	