Welcome to the Population RIG

Mission Statement:

The purpose of the Population Research Group is to promote research, disseminate knowledge, exchange ideas, and foster teaching on the demographic study of rural populations within the context of sociology. The Population RIG welcomes members of all theoretical and methodological persuasions and embraces work that considers causes and consequences of rural population processes in all institutions and social contexts.

Rural Sociological Society
Population Research Interest Group Graduate Student Paper Award

The Population Research Interest Group (RIG) of the Rural Sociological Society is soliciting submissions for a graduate student paper award in the areas of rural demography and population studies. The RIG takes a broad view on acceptable topics as long a rural population characteristics factor prominently in the research.

Eligibility: Current graduate students and recent graduates (who receive their degrees no earlier than May 2019) may apply. Coauthored papers are acceptable as long as all of the authors were students at the time the paper was written and submitted. Coauthored papers with individuals possessing their terminal degree prior to May 2019 will not be considered.

Award: The recipient will receive a monetary prize of at least $200 (final budget TBD) to help defray the cost of attending the 2019 RSS Annual Meeting in Richmond, VA (Aug. 7-10 2019). The recipient will also be recognized at the Population RIG business meeting.

Submission Guidelines: Follow two steps: 1) Submit an abstract to present the paper at the annual meeting of the Rural Sociological Society (due Friday, February 15, 2019, 11:59 pm EST). 2) Send an electronic copy of the full paper with contact information to the RIG co-chair Scott Sanders ([email protected]by Friday, May 4, 2019, 11:59 p.m. EST

Format: The paper submission should not exceed 35 double-spaced pages (including all tables, graphs, and references) in a standard font (12 point). The winner will be selected by a committee of RIG members and receive their award at the RSS Annual Meeting. The winner will be notified via email by June 1, 2019.   


Chair: Tim Slack
[email protected]
Co-Chair: Scott Sanders
[email protected]