RIGs

What are Research and Interest Groups? Research and Interest Groups (RIGs) reflect the substantive interests of RSS Members and serve as an important avenue for connecting members with similar interests.  RIGs serve a critical role in RSS including: identifying, developing, and recruiting for the annual RSS conference; planning special events, speakers, field trips for the annual conference; providing intellectual leadership in their respective areas; rewarding achievement through internal awards and recognitions; and creating opportunities for members, particularly graduate students, to network and identify colleagues with similar interests. 

RSS currently has 14 RIGs. To find out more about each RSS Research and Interest Group (RIG) simply click on the title below or contact the leader of the RIG. If you are interested in proposing a new RIG and know at least 6 RSS members who share your interests, contact the current Vice President with your idea.  Kathy Brasier is the 2017 VP and her e-mail address is kbrasier@psu.edu.

Click on the RIG's title for more information.  Click here for information about RIG dues.

Applied and Extension
Co-Chair: Michael Lotspiech
mlot94@gmail.com
Co-Chair:Sunday Ogunjimi
jimisunday@yahoo.co.uk

Community, Health, and Family
Co-Chair: Karen Hayden
haydenk@merrimack.edu
Co-Chair: Amanda Lequieu
ammcmillan@wisc.edu
Co-Chair: Lindy Olive
lno0004@auburn.edu

Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality
Chair: John Sipple
jsipple@cornell.edu
Co-Chair: Kai Schafft
kas45@psu.edu

Natural Resources
Chair: Yetkin Borlu
yborlu@richmond.edu
Co-Chair: Amanda Buday
atbuday@fhsu.edu
Grad Rep: Catrin Edgeley
cedgeley@uidaho.edu

Population
Chair: Shaun Golding
goldings@kenyon.edu
Co-Chair: Tim Slack
timslack76@gmail.com
Grad Rep: Rachel Haggard
rhaggard@go.olemiss.edu

Gender and Sexualities RIG
Co-Chair: Emily Wornell
ejwornell@bsu.edu
Co-Chair: Rayna Sage
rayna.sage@mso.umt.edu
Student Rep: Mayra Morgan
Monsanche@mtu.edu
Student Rep: Robert Baez
rbaez@ufl.edu

International Development & Studies
Chair: Laura McKinney
lauramc@tulane.edu
Co-Chair: Anne Cafer
amcafer@olemiss.edu

Rural Policy

Chair: Rhianna Williams
rlwillia@mtu.edu
Co-Chair: Joe Jakubek
jakubek@k-state.edu

Rural Poverty
Chair: Lizzy Seale
elizabeth.seale@oneonta.edu
Chair-elect: Bob Francis
rfranc15@jhu.edu

Rural Studies
Co-Chair: Dianna Bryant
bryant@ucmo.edu
Co-chair: Paige Kelly
paige.e.kelly34@gmail.com

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities
Chair: Jose Garcia-Pabon
garciajl@wsu.edu

Senior Rural Sociologists
Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca

Sociology of Agriculture and Food (SAFRIG)
Co-Chair: Ethan Schoolman
ethan.schoolman@rutgers.edu
Co-Chair: Danielle (Dani) Deemer
demmer.dani@gmail.com

Teaching and Curriculum 
Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu
Co-Chair: Amanda Buday
atbuday@fhsu.edu