RIGs

What are Research and Interest Groups? Research and Interest Groups (RIGs) reflect the substantive interests of RSS Members and serve as an important avenue for connecting members with similar interests.  RIGs serve a critical role in RSS including: identifying, developing, and recruiting for the annual RSS conference; planning special events, speakers, field trips for the annual conference; providing intellectual leadership in their respective areas; rewarding achievement through internal awards and recognitions; and creating opportunities for members, particularly graduate students, to network and identify colleagues with similar interests. 

RSS currently has 14 RIGs. To find out more about each RSS Research and Interest Group (RIG) simply click on the title below or contact the leader of the RIG. If you are interested in proposing a new RIG and know at least 6 RSS members who share your interests, contact the current Vice President with your idea.  Kathy Brasier is the 2017 VP and her e-mail address is kbrasier@psu.edu.

Click on the RIG's title for more information.  Click here for information about RIG dues.

Applied and Extension
Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu

Community, Health, and Family
Community Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu

Community Co-Chair: Anne Cafer
amchz9@mail.missouri.edu

Health Co-Chair: Stephanie Teixeira-Poit
steixeira@rti.org

Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality
Chair: John Sipple
jsipple@cornell.edu

Co-Chair: Kai Schafft
kas45@psu.edu

Natural Resources
Chair: Weston Eaton
wesdrm@gmail.com

Co-Chair: Aby Sene-Harper
abysene1@tamu.edu

Grad Rep: Grace Wildermuth
gvw5117@psu.edu

Population
Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad
jessicad.ulrich@gmail.com

Co-Chair: Shaun Golding
goldings@kenyon.edu

Grad Rep: Amit Anshumali
aa299@cornell.edu

Rural Gender Issues
Chair: Emily Wornell
ejw224@psu.edu

Co-Chair: Rayna Sage
rayna.sage@mso.umt.edu

International Development & Studies 
Chair: Laura McKinney
lauramc@tulane.edu

Co-Chair: John Green
jjgreen@olemiss.com

Rural Policy
Chair: Rhianna Williams
rlwillia@mtu.edu

Co-Chair: Joe Jakubek
jakubek@k-state.edu

Rural Poverty  
Chair: Eric Freeman
eric.freeman@wichita.edu

Co-Chair: Lizzy Seale
elizabeth.seale@oneonta.edu

Co-Chair: Dreamal Worthen
dreamal.worthen@famu.edu

Rural Studies
Chair: Lisa Pruitt
lrpruitt@ucdavis.edu

Co-chair: Barbara Ching
bching@iastate.edu

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities
Chair: Mark Harvey
Mharve16@fau.edu

Co-Chair: Jose Garcia-Pabon
garciajl@wsu.edu

Senior Rural Sociologists
Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca

Sustainable Agriculture & Food (SAFRIG)

Chair: Jessica Goldberger
jgoldberger@wsu.edu

Co-Chair: Danielle (Dani) Deemer
deemer.dani@gmail.com or DDeemer@newhaven.edu

Teaching and Curriculum 
Co-chair: Anjel Stough-Hunter
Stough.16@osu.edu

Co-chair: Caroline Brock
brockcc@missouri.edu

Co-Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu